Econophysics Colloquium 2013 & Asia Pacific Econophysics

Conference 2013

July 29 (Mon), 2013 ~ July 31 (Wed), 2013

line Main Page

Econophysics Colloquium 2013 & Asia Pacific Econophysics Conference (APEC) 2013

(satellite meeting of STATPHYS 25)

July 29-31, 2013

POSTECH (APCTP Headquarters), Pohang, Korea


The annual colloquium, now in its ninth consecutive year, provides a platform for the presentation of interdisciplinary ideas from different communities, for instance economics and finance, physics, mathematics, biology, computer science, engineering, etc.

The main aim of this colloquium is to foster an open-minded, cross-fertilizing, and regular exchange of ideas among scholars and practitioners of the different fields in a friendly environment.

Conference Topics

Conference topics traditionally include the application of methods and modeling paradigms from physics and complexity science to socio-economic problems, for instance in the following fields:

  • Agent-based models in economics and finance
  • Computational experimental finance
  • Derivatives pricing and hedging
  • Evolutionary game theory
  • Financial engineering
  • Fractal and multifractal analysis and modeling
  • Market dynamics, macroscopic models and prediction
  • Market microstructure
  • Risk management
  • Statistical and probabilistic methods in economics and finance
  • Stylized facts
  • Complex Systems and Complex Network
  • Complexity in Economic System
  • Social Physics
  • Other Topics in Econophysics and Social Physics

Important Dates

  • Abstract Submission: April 30, 2013 May 15, 2013
  • Notification: May 15, 2013
  • Early Registration: May 15, 2013
  • Late Registration: June 15, 2013

Invited Speakers

  • Siew Ann Cheong (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • Hiroshi Iyetomi (Niigata University, Japan)
  • Hawoong Jeong (KAIST, Korea)
  • Woo-Sung Jung (POSTECH, Korea)
  • Taisei Kaizoji (International Christian University, Japan)
  • Beom Jun Kim (Sungkyunkwan University, Korea)
  • Kyungsik Kim (Pukyong National University, Korea)
  • Seunghwan Kim (POSTECH, Korea)
  • Yong-Cheol Kim (University of Wisconsin, USA)
  • Okyu Kwon (National Institute for Mathematical Sciences, Korea)
  • Jae Woo Lee (Inha University, Korea)
  • Sai-Ping Li (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
  • Thomas Lux (University of Kiel, Germany)
  • Rosario Nunzio Mantegna (University of Palermo, Italy)
  • Tiziana Di Matteo (King's College London, UK)
  • Gabjin Oh (Chosun University, Korea)
  • Tobias Preis (University of Warwick, UK)
  • Aki-Hiro Sato (Kyoto University, Japan)
  • Seung-Woo Son (Hanyang University, Korea)
  • Misako Takayasu (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
  • Stefan Thurner (Medical University of Vienna, Austria)
  • Yougui Wang (Beijing Normal University, China)
  • Victor Yakovenko (University of Maryland, USA)
  • Wei-Xing Zhou (East China University of Science and Technology, China)

Scientific Committee

  • Tomaso Aste (University College London, London)
  • Damiano Brigo (Imperial College, London)
  • Carl Chiarella (University of Technology, Sydney
  • Guido Caldarelli (Universita' La Sapienza, Rome)
  • Shu-Heng Chen (National Chengchi University, Taipei)
  • Siew Ann Cheong (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • Carmen Costea (Spiru Haret University, Bucharest)
  • Michel Dacorogna (SCOR SE Zurich Branch, Zurich)
  • Tiziana Di Matteo (King's College London, London)
  • J.Doyne Farmer (Santa Fe Institute, Santa Fe)
  • Mauro Gallegati (Universita Politecnica delle Marche, Ancona)
  • Giulia Iori (City University, London)
  • Woo-Sung Jung (POSTECH, Pohang)
  • Taisei Kaizoji (International Christian University, Tokyo)
  • Janos Kertesz (Technical University of Budapest, Budapest)
  • Seunghwan Kim (POSTECH, Pohang)
  • Alan Kirman (G.R.E.Q.A.M, Aix-en-Provence)
  • Sai-Ping Li (Academia Sinica, Taipei)
  • Fabrizio Lillo (University of Palermo, Palermo)
  • Thomas Lux (University of Kiel, Kiel)
  • Rosario N. Mantegna (Universita' di Palermo, Palermo)
  • Luciano Pietronero (University of Rome, Roma)
  • Peter Richmond (Trinity College, Dublin)
  • Aki-Hiro Sato (Kyoto University, Kyoto)
  • Enrico Scalas (Universita' del Piemonte Orientale, Alessandria)
  • Frank Schweitzer (ETH, Zurich)
  • Eugene H. Stanley (Boston University, Boston)
  • Hideki Takayasu (Sony Computer Science, Tokyo)
  • Stefan Thurner (Medical University of Vienna, Vienna)
  • Constantino Tsallis (CBPF, Rio de Janeiro and Santa Fe Institute, Santa Fe)
  • Yougui Wang (Beijing Normal University, Beijing)
  • Yi-Cheng Zhang (University of Fribourg, Fribourg)

Local Organizing Committee

  • Hawoong Jeong (KAIST)
  • Jaeseung Jeong (KAIST)
  • Woo-Sung Jung (POSTECH, Secretary)
  • Hyungtae Kook (Gachon niversity)
  • Beom Jun Kim (Sungkyunkwan University)
  • Kyungsik Kim (Pukyong National University)
  • Seunghwan Kim (POSTECH, Chair)
  • Okyu Kwon (National Institute for Mathematical Sciences)
  • Jae Woo Lee (Inha university)
  • Gabjin Oh (Chosun University)
  • Seung-Woo Son (Hanyang University)
  • Soon-Hyung Yook (Kyung Hee University)

Previous Events - Econophysic Colloquium

Previous Events - Asia-Pacific Econophysics Conference



POSTECH Basic Science Research Institute

Institute for Edge of Theoretical Science

Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics

Contact Information